

## How to Nominate:

Anyone can write a brief paragraph or two naming the club/
person he or she wishes to nominate along with the Why and/or
What that person or club has done that makes them stand out to be nominated for the award.

How to Submit
Nominations
Send to Ed Hainline,
OTSVA Recognition chairperson at:
edhainline@comcast.net
not later than May 9th,
2014 OR deliver your written nomination in person
to Ed at any upcoming
Volkssport event, not later
than May 10th, 2013.

Chosen
A Selection Committee
of at least 4 individuals
from the Volkssports
community (who are not
nominees or individuals
who have made nominations) are appointed.
Committee votes are
counted and winners are
determined.

How Award Winners are

# **Oregon Flame Awards**

How does a Club or an Individual possess excellence? Excellent people and excellent clubs are outstanding or extremely good at what they do. They operate with a high standard and are well-known for their accomplishments, class, fairness, graciousness, merit, pleasantness, wholeness, and who present themselves with skillful prestige all in the name of advancing Volkssports.

Who is someone with inspiration? A creative, imaginative person who is highly motivated, has sophisticated can-do thinking that endorses a why not approach to Volkssporting, and can motivate others both creatively and productively.

Who is someone with enthusiasm? A person who approaches life and Volkssports with intense and eager enjoyment, interest, eagerness, warmth, fervor, passion, and/or devotion.

- Club Excellence
- Individual Excellence
- Individual Inspiration
- Individual Enthusiasm

# A Brief History of the Oregon Flame Awards

The Flame Awards were created in 1997 by our own Sam Korff as a way to ensure that recognition was possible for all volkssporters throughout Oregon. For at least 4 years he paid for the trophies out of his own resources. In 2002, Sam finally started getting reimbursed for the award trophies he had purchased when OTSVA stepped up. Now the Oregon Flame Awards and the award process is part of the OTSVA Steering Committee's Recognition Committee tasking under our Standing Rules. Lucille Messner (Inspiration) and Cathy Allen (Enthusiasm) were among the very first award winners.

In 2012, Sam was given a Special Flame Award for all his dedication to make Oregon Volkssports strong!

# <u>Recent Past Winners</u> of Oregon Flame Awards

# Club Excellence

2010: Rose City Roamers

2011: Rogue Valley Walkers

2012: Albany Fitwalkers

2013: Columbia River Volkssports Club

### Individual Excellence

2010: Carmella & Oscar Swinney

2011: Maryann Brown

2012: Maryann Brown

2013: Dick Baker & Joe Titone

### Individual Enthusiasm

2010: Rozy Weatherby

2011: Jane Leider

2012: Karen Wusstig 2013: Annette St-Pierre

### Individual Inspiration

2010: Vera Burk

2011: Joan Larson

2012: Julia Westerberg

2013: Regina Blake

Oregon Trail State Volkssport Association